FAQ  •  Login

Duke3D won't start under XP

Moderator: Moderators

<<

SnowyDog

Post Sun Feb 14, 2010 3:11 pm

Duke3D won't start under XP

I am trying to run Duke3D on a Win XP machine. Having carefully followed the instructions here:

http://buildxp.deathmask.net/

I have found that it will not start, no matter what I try. My machine is an HP Omibook 6000 laptop (PIII-700, 512MB) running WinXP SP3.

When clicking the Duke3D pre-configured VDMSound shortcut, the script runs NOLFB as expected and starts Duke3D, however the game fails at the end of initialisation with a "divide overflow" and the command prompt closes.

Anyone have any ideas? Thanks :cry:
<<

vOid

User avatar

Cultist

Posts: 44

Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2008 1:30 pm

Location: USA

Post Mon Feb 15, 2010 9:01 pm

Re: Duke3D won't start under XP

DosBox is my standard answer now even though i don't use it. Those of us still stuck with under a gig of anything on our system specs find DB a poor solution I'm afraid.
Image

Return to BuildXP

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests

cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software for PTF.