Odd problem with my monitor and build engine games on XP.

Discussion about using or improving the BuildXP guide.

Moderator: Moderators

Ninja_of_DooM
Cultist

Odd problem with my monitor and build engine games on XP.

Post by Ninja_of_DooM » Tue Apr 19, 2005 6:03 pm

OK, now i've been playing Blood and Duke 3D on XP for the past 6 months now. Everything was going OK until a few weeks ago. Whenever I boot up the game and play for about 10 minutes my monitor goes funny.

The thing is, it switches itself off and then switches back on again and then off again very quickly and keeps doing this until I shut down or restart the computer. It doesn't happen with any other games and I haven't downloaded anything lately like updates and drivers.

I don't know if anyone will be able to help me out a great deal here due to the fact it's maybe my monitor acting up (or my dad's been fiddling with stuff he shouldn't touch again) but does anyone else perhaps have this problem?:?

EDIT: I have an ATI Radeon 8500 graphics card..
Last edited by Ninja_of_DooM on Tue Apr 19, 2005 7:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Lord Molder
Cultist

Prob

Post by Lord Molder » Tue Apr 19, 2005 6:18 pm

What kind of Graphics card do u have?,check all connections at card and monitor end {including power} Its funny that it only occurs in Build games.I am sure ive heard of this before and will try to google it up.Check that ya old fella hasnt messed with any power saving settings as well!! And disable screensaver.
`theres no place like home....Eheheeee!

Ninja_of_DooM
Cultist

Post by Ninja_of_DooM » Tue Apr 19, 2005 7:01 pm

OK I've been into power options and changed the turn off monitor tie to 20 minutes and have disabled screensavers. I'm going to check how it runs now.

Lord Molder
Cultist

Post by Lord Molder » Tue Apr 19, 2005 7:03 pm

What res are ya running Build games in :?:

Ninja_of_DooM
Cultist

Post by Ninja_of_DooM » Tue Apr 19, 2005 7:28 pm