FAQ  •  Login

DOSbox

Moderator: Moderators

<<

DeM0n

User avatar

Cultist

Posts: 78

Joined: Tue May 02, 2006 1:43 pm

Post Sun Jul 16, 2006 8:25 pm

DOSbox

Does anyone here actually use it?

I only use it for like 1 out of 20 of my DOS games.
And that game is Ultima 8 lol
VDMsound won't run it.
I tried to apply the win98 patch to ultima, works fine. Just no sound effects lol.

Other than that I don't like using DOSbox that much. Games like Blood run horribly slow in it (No suprise tho).

But yeah, share your thoughts and expirience with it here I guess :P
<<

Willis

User avatar

Master of the Mask

Posts: 32

Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2005 9:56 pm

Post Sun Jul 16, 2006 11:39 pm

I primarily use Windows XP Pro x64 which doesn't run anything 16-bit, so most native dos applications are out of the question, leaving only DOSBox or other emulation for me.

Also, DOSBox is good for people on linux playing games that aren't open source.
<<

Slink

User avatar

Rat

Posts: 2

Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2005 7:52 pm

Location: A nice leaf

Post Thu Aug 24, 2006 5:27 pm

You should try the Quest for Glory series on dosbox. I think that you might like the games, and they may run well. :)
...a delicious blend of green and red...
<<

Althendar

User avatar

Zombie

Posts: 10

Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2006 9:11 pm

Location: Inside my computer trying to get Blood to work

Post Sat Nov 11, 2006 10:07 am

I tried DOS Box...It confused me...maybe i should have paid attention in computer class when we were doing DOS instead off tring to get that one chick's phone #...WHY DOES IT COME BACK TO HAUNT ME???
<<

ilikemyhandsbloody

Post Mon Jan 25, 2010 11:11 am

Re: DOSbox

Yup, I use it all the time with Blood.
It's pretty easy to use though. I think most people have problems with the stuff typing about mounting disks etc.

If you want to start Blood in a very easy way (with a desktop icon that is) then do this:

1. Put a copy of DOSBox (and all its other files ofcourse) in your Blood folder
(let's say the path to your Blood folder is D:\GAMES\BLOOD)

2. Open the DOSBox config file and scroll all the way down until you see:

[AUTOEXEC]
# Lines in this section will be run at startup.
ECHO OFF

Under that you type this:

MOUNT C D:\GAMES\BLOOD
C:
BLOOD

3. Now drag the DOSBox icon from the folder onto the desktop and make it a shortcut, DONE!

Return to DosBox

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software for PTF.